Simple Shoemaking Shop

sharon@simpleshoemaking.com

Diane’s bellows-tongue shoes

with one comment

leather_and_fabric_moc_113

Hi Sharon,
I have not made any shoes in a while but finally I had some time and made a pair of bellows tongue shoes. They are so comfortable! And the best part is that I used fabric for the top so if I change my mind and want a different look or the fabric wears out before the leather, I can just put in new fabric. Also, they will be cooler to wear on hot days.

I have sent some pictures for you, including one of how I have had to modify the pattern to fit my feet. I cannot do that rounded heel cup thing at all otherwise I step on the seam and it hurts. I guess my feet are a lot differently shaped than yours!

I got the leather from a yard sale, the fabric from an old pair of jeans someone threw out and the soles from a local store that sells industrial cast-offs. We have a couple of shoe designers in town, including the company that makes the Teva, Simple and Ugg brands, so sometimes soles, leather and shoe parts turn up there.

Diane

note from Sharon: Diane used a pattern from How to Make Simple Shoes for Women – with your own two hands! to make these shoes. She put some time into customizing the patterns, but I think she agrees that the results were worth the effort. I love the slope of the topline, the loops she made to catch the laces, the color of the heel support piece and the little touch of braid – so many opportunities for creative thinking!

leather_and_fabric_moc_115

Written by simpleshoemaking

February 19, 2014 at 3:53 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Diane Love your tongue shoes looks.:)

    Alice

    February 25, 2014 at 2:56 pm


Leave a comment